Batangas Province

Batangas Province Capitol | Photo By: Noel Landicho for Ala Eh! Festival 2011

A world class and eco-friendly tourist destination in this part of Southern Luzon


Batangas Province: A world – class destination with ecologically balanced and sustainable development, state-of-the-art infrastructure, home of God-loving and family-centered people, governed by dedicated and professional political leadership, committed to one vision and shared responsibilities geared towards better quality of life for all Batangueños.


Batangas Province is committed to establish and achieve dynamic, effective and transparent governance, intensify social services, upgrade the quality of education, construct state-of-the-art infrastructure, promote agro-tourism industry and advocate a conducive environment for investment through synergistic approach with the highest degree of integrity.


Originally composed of Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Marinduque and parts of Laguna and Ambos-Camarines and also known as COUMINTAN or KUMINTANG.

In 1534, Batangas became the first practically organized province in Luzon and was officially founded in the year 1581. Balayan was the capital of the province for 135 years from 1597 – 1732. In 1732 it was moved to Taal then the most progressive and flourishing town of the province. After several calamitous eruptions of Taal Volcano that buried then old Taal town site, the capital was transferred to Batangas (now a city) in 1754 where it remained to the present.


Bounded on the north by the province of Cavite, on the northeast and east by the province of Laguna and Quezon, respectively, on the south by the Verde Island passages and on the west by the China Sea.

Provincial Capital

photo credits to♦ Balayan 1597 – 1732
♦ Taal 1732 – 1754
♦ Batangas City 1754 to date

The Capitol Building

Located in Batangas City, construction began in 1926 and completed in 1928 under the late Governor Modesto Castillo. Destroyed during World War II, reconstructed in 1946, again destroyed by a bomb explosion in 1950, it was reconstructed in the same year by Governor Feliciano P. Leviste.

Land Area: 316, 581 has. Or 3, 165.81 sq. kms.

Percentage (%) to CALABARZON Land Area: 18.8%

Number of Cities: 3

Municipalities: 31

Number of Barangays: 1,078

Number of Congressional Districts: 6

First District (8 towns) :
Balayan, Calaca, Calatagan, Lemery, Lian, Nasugbu, Taal, Tuy

Second District (6 towns) :
Bauan, Lobo, Mabini, San Luis, San Pascual, Tingloy

Third District (11 towns and 1 city) :
Agoncillo, Alitagtag, Balete, Cuenca, Laurel, Malvar, Mataasnakahoy, San Nicolas, Sta. Teresita, Sto. Tomas, Talisay and Tanauan City

Fourth District (6 towns) :
Ibaan, Padre Garcia, Rosario, San Jose, San Juan, Taysan

Fifth District (1 city) :
Batangas City

Sixth District (1 city) :
Lipa City


Slope Topography

Generally rolling terrain with some 50% of land area having a grade of less than 15 degrees. Slopes are found along the shores of Verde Island Passage and Taal Lake. Mt. Makulot has an average of 957 meters above sea level.